Donating blood in Korea part 2

I got a group of foreigners together who have passed the 1 year mark, which makes us eligible for blood donation in Korea. I also roped in a Korean friend to help us translate the forms.

Unfortunately, we were turned away. Apparently you can’t use a friend to help you with translation… which begs the question “how else would a foreigner know a Korean well enough to ask for the imposition of time that blood donation requires”??!

I am very frustrated with the system in Pohang. I know that rhesus negative is a very rare blood type and when (not if) I get run over while I’m cycling, I’d really like to know that there is blood available for my treatment. The way that the clinic in Pohang is currently operating is counter productive and puts foreigners at a huge disadvantage when it comes to medical care.

I plan to write to the mayor requesting that the system be made more accessible to foreigners.

UPDATE: My letter is in the system, being translated as we speak and hopefully we’ll see a big change on the horizon before the end of the year.

Leave a Reply

