Fotofacial IPL in Korea

We can thank Korean vanity for making the trip to the local dermatologist affordable. I had 4 moles removed last year and it cost 40,000 won (approx. US$40). I recently asked my dermatologist about chemical peels to get rid of my acne scarring and some sun damage that I’ve accumulated over the years. He recommended Fotofacial RF/ IPL treatment. Treatment comprises 3- 5 monthly sessions after which you should have a top up every 6 months. In the UK, Fotofacial RF/ IPL costs GBP256 a pop (US$420). Here in Korea it’s 150,000 won (GBP85 or US$140) per session. I decided to give this a try since IPL also tackles any pesky hair sprouting that accompanies ageing. What’s that all about, by the way?! Why are hormones so cruel?!!

As an aside, I have never had any treatments like this before and I have notoriously sensitive skin that welts really easily. I went for my first session yesterday and this is my feedback:

– They start by spreading an anesthetic cream on your face which takes about 30 minutes to kick in completely. It starts off as a weird hot/ cold feeling and then your face feels stiff, like a mud pack that’s dried.

– After 30 minutes is up, they’ll remove any residual product from your face and tape some cotton wool over your eyes, followed by an eye protector on top.

– The dermatologist will advise you to raise your hand if you feel any pain during treatment. A cooling gel is applied continuously throughout the treatment. You will experience a  a very light zapping sensation accompanied by an orange flash every time the doctor uses the light pulse. There is also a faint burning smell. It didn’t hurt but it was definitely more noticeable when he treated my chin and upper lip. He treated my face twice and it took about 30 minutes from start to finish.

– After the treatment was over, I was taken to lie down in a recovery room where they treated my face with cold compresses for 30 minutes.

– I was advised that my face might form a crust within a week and the doctor gave me Tremix Revitalizing Antioxidant Complex cream to aid healing post-procedure. I was a bit perturbed by the word ‘crust’ but so far my skin just looks a bit sunburnt.

– My next session will be in 3 weeks’ time. I look forward to seeing the results. I’m hoping that my tendency for extreme blushing will be reduced and I’d like to see some sun damage disappear (I don’t have huge expectations on that front to be honest!). Finally, I would LOVE for my pores to be smaller. For me, having acne, doing sport and being a general sweaty betty has meant having some very noticeable pores on my face. Smoking and drinking alcohol are also known factors in causing bad skin (incl. pore size).

In the meantime, I will also be eating more raw fruit and veggies and drinking more water- the easiest, cheapest skin care solution on the planet 😉

Check out my blog roll to find inspiration on healthy, scrummy food and drinks! (seriously, vegetarians and raw juice people just seem to glow- they look freakishly healthy)

x

2 thoughts on “Fotofacial IPL in Korea

  1. Hi, nice review. Can you please tell me which Clinic you went to in Korea to have this IPL treatment. I’m looking into going over there for treatment. Thank you!

    1. Hi Christina, thanks for the feedback. Honestly, finding a dermatologist in Korea is like finding a corner shop in the UK. There are LOADS!And because skin care is such a high priority for Koreans it should be affordable everywhere (obviously Gangnam prices will be higher). If you use http://www.naver.com// and search “피부과” (dermalogy), “피부과 전문의” (dermatologist), “나비” (skin), IPL and the area you want to visit (like Seoul), you will get a million hits (click on 지도 to see the map). Seoul, Busan and Daegu will all have clinics that have English websites and doctors which will make your search easier!

Leave a Reply

