Lunch at my co- teacher’s house

I was very fortunate to be invited to my co-teacher Eun Joo’s apartment for lunch yesterday. At school we always chatted about cooking and crafting. She gave me homemade kimchi (fermented cabbage) and I gave her homemade hummous! She crochets too but her projects tend to be cotton based and slightly larger than mine: bed spreads as opposed to berets! 🙂

I met her daughter, who is about to start her second year at university as well as one of her best friends. I found it quite amusing hearing my co lament the fact that her daughter is fat and that she should take more care with her appearance. If the poor girl had been in the room at the time I probably would have high fived her for being down to earth instead of self obsessed! I asked Eun Joo where the Korean obsession with looks came from since it’s not really compatible with Buddhist or Confusionist principles. She told me it started with the first K-pop bands in the 80’s (the start of the Korean Wave) , specifically with a band called H.O.T. According to wikipedia they only started up in 1995… So basically, we have mass media to blame for people’s self-obsession/ loathing  in Korea (just like in the West).

Here’s H.O.T- great hair lads!

Eun Joo showed me how to cook a couple of dishes and they’re both super simple and tasty.  They can both be adapted to suit vegetarians.

1. Hoanghatang (Dalgyalguk) 황하탕 [달걀국]

Beat 2 eggs. Slice some green onion. Boil 300ml water and add a pinch of salt (you can also use broth/ stock cube). Add the egg and let it do its thing for 1 minute, add the green onion and boil for another 30s. DONE! Easy, delicious and healthy.

PhotoGrid_1393392446175

2.  Kimchi Deop Bap (Bap means rice)  김치덮밥

If you have a food processor, chuck a handful of kimchi in it and blend. If you don’t have one, finely chop a handful of kimchi 😛

Fry 300g of pork/ minced TVP with the kimchi and serve with rice. You could fry up some minced garlic and ginger before adding the pork/ TVP but kimchi already contains both those ingredients so you don’t want those two flavours to become too overpowering. Apparently, if you can taste ginger, the chef has failed…

Eun Joo sent me on my way with some pickled onions and told me that the ratio for pickling is 1 soy sauce: 1 vinegar :1 sugar: 2 water (you can reduce the amount of sugar if you want more tartness).

IMG_20140226_142111

All in all, I had a great day yesterday learning more about the culture, history and traditions of Korea.

Try out the recipes and let me know if you like them x 

Leave a Reply

